The Evans School Student Organization (ESO) serves as the liaison between the Evans School student body and the faculty and administration. ESO places students on most faculty committees and plays a key role in

  • Developing curriculum
  • Hiring faculty members
  • Shaping academic policies
  • Evaluating courses and professors
  • Setting degree requirements

The ESO is a student-elected body made up of

  • Six second-year students who serve as president, vice president, treasurer, second-year representative (2), and second-year international representative
  • Four first-year students who serve as first-year representative (2), first-year international representative, and outreach coordinator
  • Two GPSS (UW Senate) representatives (one second-year and one first-year)

We believe in the value of all the different perspectives in the Evans School community, independently of race, nationality, religion, gender, sexual orientation, or political background. We are committed to creating an environment where everyone feels welcome and respected among the Evans School community.

For more information about ESO events, contact one of the current officers:

  • Viviana Garza, 2016–17 ESO President: vygarza@uw.edu
  • Jacqueline Wu, 2016–17 ESO Vice President of Internal Advocacy: wu.jacqueline.e@gmail.com
  • Sam Kelly-Quattrocchi, 2016-17 ESO Vice President of Programming: sam.kelly.quattrocchi@gmail.com
  • Peiyun Zhai, 2016–17 ESO Treasurer: zhaipy@uw.edu
  • Marion Ferguson, 2016–17 ESO Student Life Lead: marionf2@uw.edu
  • Yongping Guo, 2016–17 ESO Second-Year International Student Representative: ping910@uw.edu
  • Cooper Smith, 2016-17 Outreach and Communications Manager: ctsmith@uw.edu
  • Mitchell Mahar, 2016-17 Development Lead: maharm@uw.edu
  • Annie (Xichun) Tang, 2016-17 First Year International Student Representative: tangx5@uw.edu
  • Sean Williams, 2016-17 Second Year Advocacy Lead: seanw8@uw.edu
  • Emily Morton, 2016-17 Advocacy Co-Lead: emilym28@uw.edu
  • Bucoda Warren and Kelly Brown, 2016-17 GPSS Senators: bucoda@uw.edu and kellynb@uw.edu

You can also find out more about other Evans School student organizations by contacting the Student Services office at evansuw@uw.edu or 206.543.4900.

In addition to day-to-day responsibilities such as selling merchandise and ESOcial, ESO activities include:

Autumn Quarter

  • Orientation picnic
  • Orientation happy hour
  • Winter ball
  • Autumn quarter pub crawl
  • First year ESO elections
  • Merchandise sales

Winter Quarter

  • Winter term pub crawl
  • Annual ESO talent show and silent auction
  • Joint Activity with Business School

Spring Quarter

  • Elections for second-year ESO officers
  • Conducting and all-student survey and report to the dean
  • Organizing and hosting the end of year ball
  • Field day with the UW Law School
  • Select ambassadors for following school year
  • Annual research symposium