Grant Blume Lecturing Grant Blume, Ph.D. Candidate, Wins NACAC Award for Government Relations

Grant Blume, Ph.D. Candidate at the Evans School, won the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) 2015 Government Relations award. Blume's dissertation research focuses on measuring the positive impacts that college admissions counselors have in how students apply for and pursue college.

Play the video below to learn more about the award.

Crystal Hall News Item Banner Crystal Hall Appointed to White House Social and Behavioral Sciences Team

Crystal Hall, an assistant professor at the Evans School of Public Policy & Governance, has been appointed to President Obama’s Social and Behavioral Sciences Team (SBST), a group of nationally renowned behavioral scientists and innovators charged with using evidence to test and improve federal programs. Hall, who is on assignment to the White House from the University of Washington under the Intergovernmental Personnel Act, said she would define her time at SBST as a success if the team was able to “implement legitimate policy change.” The SBST, headquartered in Washington, D.C., was...

Spotlight on UW ICMA Chapter

The Evans School of Public Policy & Governance is an excellent training ground for a career in local government. Our faculty are leading public finance experts; both Justin Marlowe and Sharon Kioko teach the core curriculum while also conducting exciting research projects in the community. Evans School alumnus and long-time city manager, Dick Zais, teaches a municipal management class each...

Ana Mari Cauce Evans School Congratulates New UW President Cauce

The Evans School family extends our congratulations to Dr. Ana Mari Cauce on her appointment as President of the University of Washington.  Dr. Cauce’s extraordinary life experience, her commitment to the university, and her vision will ensure the University of Washington’s prominent position among the world’s leading academic institutions.  We’re eager to work with President Cauce to provide our students with a learning environment inspired by the diverse community we serve, by innovation and with a commitment to the public good.

Sandra O. Archibald, Dean and...

Stephanie Leiser (Ph.D. '14) Wins ABFM Curro Award

Stephanie Leiser (Ph.D. ’14) has been selected as the winner of the 2015 Association for Budgeting and Financial Management (ABFM) Michael Curro Award for her paper, “The Diffusion of State Business Tax Incentives.” The Curro award is awarded to a graduate student who has written an outstanding paper in the field as part of a course, independent study, or other faculty supervised project.

In 2003, Endowed Professor Justin Marlowe, who served as chair of Leiser's dissertation committee, won the Curro Award. Professor Marlowe says of Leiser's award, "This is a richly deserved award....

Tyler Scott (Ph.D. '15) Wins NASPAA Dissertation Award

Congratulations to Tyler Scott (Ph.D. ’15) for winning this year's NASPAA Outstanding Achievement in Public Service Dissertation Award for his paper, “Do All of These Meetings Matter? Three Essays Concerning the Impact of Collaborative Watershed Governance.” The award will be presented at NASPAA's annual conference in Brooklyn, New York, in October.

Professor Craig Thomas says of Scott's award, "Tyler's dissertation is remarkable in that it is the first research ever to demonstrate using a large database that public/private/nonprofit collaborative partnerships have an overall...

Evans School a "Most Innovative" School

The Evans School of Public Policy and Governance is ranked 18th among the nation’s 50 most innovative public service schools, according to This ranking places the Evans School as the most innovative public school among the U.S. News & World Report's top public affairs schools and the program with the lowest net cost for students.

Schools were evaluated using a methodology aimed to identify schools doing truly innovative programs, using factors such as U.S. News & World Report rankings, number of degree programs, number of joint/dual/concurrent programs...

Sheila Edwards Lange, Evans School Alumna, Appointed Interim President of Seattle Central College

Evans School alumna Sheila Edwards Lange (MPA ’00, Ph.D. Education ’06) has been appointed interim president for Seattle Central College, beginning August 17. Lange is currently the vice president for minority affairs and vice provost for diversity at the University of Washington, where she is responsible for increasing diversity and working with senior leadership to improve retention of diverse students, faculty, and staff.

She holds a Ph.D from the University of Washington in educational leadership and policy studies and a master's in public administration from the Evans...

Parrington Hall Evans School Launches New Name

There’s a new name on the University of Washington campus beginning Wednesday, July 1.  

The Daniel J. Evans School of Public Policy and Governance is the new name of one of the university’s largest graduate degree programs.  The name change was approved by the university’s Board of Regents in May. 

"Our new name better represents our intellectual and practical contributions to policy design, implementation, and evaluation as well as leadership in understanding complex management challenges that emerge at all levels of local, national, and...

MPA Student Appointed to the UW Board of Regents

Evans School student Vanessa Kritzer has been named by Gov. Jay Inslee as the next UW student regent, a year-long appointment beginning July 1. Kritzer is the fifth student regent to come from the Evans School.

Kritzer has been actively involved in the UW community, having served in the Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS), as an officer in the Evans Student Organization, as chair of the GPSS State Legislative Steering Committee and a member of the GPSS Diversity Committee.

Kritzer's appointment was...