June 16, 2021

Evans School 2021 Award Winners

As we celebrate our graduates and the end of this academic year, we would like to draw special attention to those Evans School faculty, staff, and students who were honored with awards for their tremendous contributions to the Evans School, the University of Washington, and the greater community.

Congratulations to all!

Marie is a bright light in the UW community — envisioning and creating innovative virtual programming to build and nurture community with an explicit focus on antiracism, equity and inclusion. She was part of a core planning team awarded a UW Diversity & Inclusion Seed Grant to launch a tri-school faculty workshop on inclusive teaching in autumn 2020. Her ability to quickly pivot and create outstanding virtual programming during the pandemic has greatly benefited our students. Congratulations, Marie!

Evans School Husky 100 Honorees

Kush Doshi

(MPA/MHA concurrent ‘21)

Matt Fowle

(PhD candidate)

Izzy Sederbaum

(PhD Student)

Robert White

(EMPA Alumnus)

The Global Action Prize recognizes an Evans School MPA or PhD student for extraordinary work in a service activity that promotes global citizenship, international development, or humanitarian relief.

The Hubert G. Locke Social Justice Award recognizes a student, staff, or faculty member for their contributions and willingness to be champions for anti-racism, diversity, equity, and inclusion at the Evans School, the University of Washington, and in the broader community.

The Daniel J. Evans Award for Outstanding Leadership is given to a graduating student with a record of innovative leadership and public service during their MPA studies.

2021 ESO Outstanding Teaching Award: Ines Jurcevic

The 2021 ESO Teaching Award recognizes a faculty member who has supported and inspired students with their teaching. As one student shared: “Ines is not just incredibly brilliant and a phenomenal instructor both in-person and virtually, but she is genuinely one of the most caring, loving, and intentional people I know. I am incredibly grateful for Ines’ contributions to and presence at the Evans School.”

2021 ESO Outstanding TA Award: Francisco Santamarina

The 2021 ESO Teaching Assistant Award recognizes a graduate student who excelled in their support of students in a teaching assistant role. The many nominators of Francisco commented upon his remarkable dedication to student learning and student well-being, with a deep commitment for creating an inclusive learning environment.

Exceptional Executive MPA Student Award: Lee Ann Teylan

The recipient of this honor is selected by EMPA faculty. The award goes to a student who exhibits outstanding leadership, dedication to the Evans School and their cohort, and overall academic achievement in the EMPA program.

Outstanding Executive MPA Capstone Award: Sean Johnson

As part of their final course in the EMPA program, students develop a Capstone Portfolio under the guidance of EMPA Faculty Director and Associate Professor Stephen Page that demonstrates their leadership development and application of program content within their professional experience. Sean’s Capstone featured a breadth and thoroughness, along with high quality insight, about his personal growth and learning relating to his work at the US Dept. of the Interior.